About South Texas College


Of students are first in their family to attend college (excluding Dual Enrollment)


Credit Student Enrollment


Traditional students receive Pell grants
(excluding Dual Enrollment)


Student-Faculty Ratio

Founded in 1993, South Texas College offers more than 130 degree & certificate options, including associate degrees in a variety of liberal art, social science, business, math, science, technology, advanced manufacturing, and allied health fields of study. Additionally, South Texas College is the only community college in the State of Texas to offer 5 baccalaureate degrees. South Texas College has a faculty and staff of more than 2,200 to serve the college’s five campuses, two higher education centers, and one virtual campus.

Since 2000, the Dual Credit Programs has served 130,000 high school students at 70 high school partners, saving families over $370 million dollars in tuition.

Fast Facts



South Texas College is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC) to award Baccalaureate and Associate degrees. South Texas College also may offer credentials such as certificates and diplomas at approved degree levels. Questions about the accreditation of South Texas College may be directed in writing to the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges at 1866 Southern Lane, Decatur, GA 30033-4097, by calling (404) 679-4500, or by using information available on SACSCOC’s website (www.sacscoc.org).

Our Locations

South Texas College has locations conveniently located throughout Hidalgo and Starr counties. In addition, South Texas College also has Workforce Training Centers and Higher Education Centers.


Nursing & Allied Health
1101 E. Vermont
McAllen, TX 78503

Starr County Campus
142 FM 3167
Rio Grande City, TX 78582

Regional Center for Public Safety 
3901 S. Cage Blvd.
Pharr, TX 78577

back to top